Freedom, of a sort

August 6, 2008 at 5:54 am (Musical Miscellany)

Upon my return to Stanford I resolved to practice frequently in preparation for grad school auditions. Imagine my surprise when I realized that I actually enjoy practicing when I’m not worried about pesky things like class. 

This is a Big Deal. Normally I dislike practicing, as I feel like I don’t spend enough time on it and what little I do I don’t get very much out of. However, with the freedom of summer, spending 4-5 hours a day focusing solely on music becomes not only palatable and feasible, but downright enjoyable. That’s not to say it’s all puppies and dandelions; I do get bored or frustrated at times. However, this passes far more easily than it used to. 

Of course, it remains to be seen whether or not this is helping, but I feel like it is. I’ve certainly gained a new appreciation for how freaking hard learning an instrument is. In the end, however, it is the affirmation of my chosen path, realizing the enjoyment I get out of all this music that is the best part.

Leave a comment